} ;

Michelin Challenge Design Mobility/Utility/Flexibility Winners Announced

09 November 2017 | by Michael Gooderham


Michelin has announced the winners of its Mobility/Utility/Flexibility competition which had entrants “designing for the next global revolution” as they reimagined the humble pickup truck.

More specifically, entrants had to design “a revolutionary pickup truck or open bedded vehicle with the size, performance, versatility and distinctive new features that will dramatically increase sales by appealing to new customers and regions of the world the entrant identifies.”

The global competition’s finalists hail from 11 countries between them, spanning the Americas, Europe and the Far East, but in the end the USA scored a 1-2 finish, with a proposal from India coming third.

The jury was similarly international, comprising the following:

  • Stewart Reed: Chair, Transportation Design Department, Art Center College of Design, Consultant and Jury Chairman, Michelin Challenge Design
  • Chris Chapman: Chief Designer, Hyundai Design North America
  • Michael Gillam: Exterior Design Manager, Ram Design, FCA
  • Rob MacCachren: Off-Road Motorsports Racer, Four-time Baja 1000 Victor
  • Damien Michelin: Honorary Juror, Michelin North America
  • Richard Plavetich: General Manager, Design Business, Nissan Design America
  • Frank Saucedo: Director, Advanced Design Studio, General Motors
  • Thomas Sycha: Exterior Design Manger, BMW Group Design
  • Freeman Thomas: Director, Strategic Design, Ford Motor Company

The three winners will be guests at Michelin’s Movin’On business conference in Montréal on 30th May-1st June 2018 and participate in a private review with the jury and leading designers while their works are displayed.

Their concepts, plus those of the unsuccessful finalists, can be seen by using the grey tabs to the right of this page.

And the winners are…

  • First place: Josh Sandrock of San Diego, California, USA, for design entry “Volkswagen Type 10 Pick Up”
  • Second place: Daniel Yee of Cleveland, Ohio; Marcus Hamilton of Columbus, Ohio; and Claire Keys Pytlik of Cincinnati, Ohio, USA, for “Michelin ToolBOX Pick Up”
  • Third place: Vinod Pakalapati and Surya Konijeti of Pune, India for “X Pick”

The other finalists were:

  • Benoit Aubertin of Ciboure, France and Antoine Alaurent of Saucats, France, for design entry “Woodcutter Climber”
  • Hawon Jang of Ansan, Gyeonggi-do, South Korea, for “Mini Square”
  • Wojciech Jurkowski of Cracow, Poland, for “Renault Subtil”
  • Yixing Liao, Wei Wang, Hangbin Xu, Kang Zeng, Daiqi Fan and Jiali Han of Hangzhou, China for “UFORCE 16”
  • Alfred Munkenbeck of London, United Kingdom, for “Sherpa”
  • Thomas Weger of Edgerton, Wisconsin, USA, for “MSW Pick Up”

Lastly, there were some honourable mentions:

  • Mattia Brunelli and Luigi Marrocu of Rome, Italy, for “Mini Sandman”
  • Mo Mingqi of Guilin-Guangxi, China and Xu Ying of Hengshui-Hebei Province, China, for “Gemini”
  • Brian Hernan Isabella of Lanus, Buenos Aires, Argentina, for “ALEDAN”
  • Mohammed Ismail of Mandya, Karnataka, India, for “SAM Self Assembling Module”
  • Dr. Hussein Ali Al Jammazi of Jeddah City, Saudi Arabia, for “NAMLA”
  • Fernando Machado of Curitiba, Brazil, for “Liger”
  • Seunghee Seo of Daegu, South Korea, for “Moving Farm”
  • Jiachen Zhu of Wuhan, China, for “FoldEx Urban Logistic Pick Up”

Overall, the jury were impressed by the diversity, creativity, originality and sheer potential of the entries, which suggest a big and broad future for an in-demand style of vehicle. Take a look for yourself using the sidebar on the right, and watch the video below if you’d like an all-action version...